What Does the Middle Years Programme in MLSI Comprise of?

On May 8, 2020,

The International Baccalaureate initially launched the Middle Years Programme (MYP) in 1994 and consequently, it has been adopted by more than 1,300 schools around the world in more than 100 countries. It was originally curated to meet the developing needs of the students at the middle level, which roughly equates to students aged 11 to 16, at international schools. The International Baccalaureate Middle Years Programme, sometimes coined as MYP, is what we have adopted at MLSI to prepare students for the rigorous IB Diploma.

For a large number of students, the MYP facilitates an enhanced classroom experience, even if the IB diploma isn’t the penultimate goal. Comparable to the IB diploma program, the MYP focuses on offering students real-world education experience, interlinking their studies to the world around them. For most students, this process of learning is an engaging way to connect with learning resources and materials.

It can be stated that the Middle Years Programme is deemed more of a structure for teaching rather than a strict curriculum. At MLSI, teachers are encouraged to embrace traditional practices of teaching mixed with contemporary technology in order to cultivate a program that best fits with the mission and vision of the school. The MYP concentrates on the student’s entire experience while presenting rigorous studies.

The Middle Years Programme comprises of eight different components –

  • Language Acquisition
  • Language & Literature
  • Individuals & Societies
  • Science
  • Mathematics
  • Arts
  • Physical Health & Education
  • Design

The MYP mandates the need of 50 hours of teaching time for each subject in each academic year of the course structure. During the last year of the programme, students also engage in a personal project, which enables them to exhibit their intellectual understanding and skills. The student is expected to initiate and complete the project with some guidance from the faculty. A central element of the IB programme is that evaluation is standardised across the world.

The grading system across the 8 areas of study follows the criteria below:

  • 7 = Excellent
  • 6 = Very Good
  • 5 = Good
  • 4 = Satisfactory
  • 3 = Mediocre
  • 2 = Poor
  • 1 = Very Poor

The maximum score a student can secure for the IB MYP Certificate is 56, while the minimum is 28 with at least a grade 3 in each subject assessed under the MYP regulations. Candidates are also required to satisfy the IBO’s specifications for participation in community service.